St. Kevin's GAA Philipstown Crest

Follow Us On :

Strong Louth Village put aside battling Philipstown

Strong Louth Village put aside battling Philipstown

Paddy Sheelan Cup Group A

St. Kevins: 3-06
St. Mochtas: 2 -20

Thomas McNamee’s first official game in charge was a tough test, as last year’s Senior Football finalists
put his side through their paces in their opening game of the Paddy Sheelan Cup.
The Louth Village outfit started their 2022 campaign strongly with 5 unanswered scores in the opening ten minutes, yet St. Kevin’s took their goal chances well and Lee Crosbie kept his side in the game slotting home from close range after nice skill in front of goal.

St.Mochtas were efficient in their point scoring, hardly missing a trick but St Kevin’s still found themselves level after 20 minutes when midfielder Brian Callaghan produced a classy dummy solo at the 21 metre line, taking 2 defenders out of the game and finishing off the post on his weaker right foot to leave the game 2-1 to 0-8.

St. Kevins started to grow in confidence causing some turnovers in the middle of the field and getting a stronger foot hold on the game, but a Jamie Farrell goal after a calculated Louth Village press deep in the Kevins third proved the difference as Louth Village went into the break leading 1-12 to 2-2.

St. Mochtas only seemed to get stronger after the interval with Declan Byrne kicking some fine scores off both feet, but credit to his marker Finbarr Lynch who had a fine game at full back blocking down numerous shots and turning the ball over countless times for his defence. Tom Matthews got his side a late consolation goal after a solo run from virtually the length of the field by Cian Callan ended with Matthews punting neatly into the bottom corner.

St. Kevins play Ardee St. Marys next weekend on Sunday at 11AM in the next round of the Paddy Sheelan Cup.

St Kevins: Brandon Johnson, Andrew Hynes, Finbarr Lynch, Darren McMullan, Keelan Maher, Eoin McKenna(0-1), Shane Meade, Brian Callaghan(1-0), Cian Callan(0-2), Evan Doheny, Karl Martin(0-1), TJ Doheny(0-1), Tom Matthews(1-0), Lee Crosbie(1-0), Ronan Sands.

Adam Cromwell (0-1) for Karl Martin, Sean Powderly for Keelan Maher, Josh Finlay for Brandon Johnson, Mossie Guinan for Tom Matthews, Cillian McCullough for Ronan Sands, Cian Martin for Evan Doheny, Dylan Maher for Sean Powderly.

Tags :
Share This :

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related News